

Representing the Residents and Ratepayers of Otter Point, Shirley and Jordan River www.opsrra.ca

2019 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Date: April 14, 2019 Time: 1:30 PM Place: JdF Services Building

Directors Present: Fiona McDannold, Brenda Mark, Bill Dushenko, Diane Foster, Cheryl Wirch-Ryckman

Guest: Mike Hicks, JdF Regional Director, Jeri Grant, JdF Emergency, John McCrae, Otter Point Fire Department.

OPSRRA Members and Public Present:

- 1. Introduction and Announcements: President Bill Dushenko welcomed the members to the AGM and outlined the meeting format. He introduced the current board. Bill asked for any one who wished to volunteer to see a board member. Jeri Grant outlined the emergency evacuation process for the building.
- 2. Approval of Agenda Moved: Arnie Campbell Second: Ken Pungente
 - Approved

3. Appointment of Recorder

Fiona McDannold was appointed as recorder.

4. Approval of the Minutes of the April 2018 Annual General Meeting

Moved: Cheryl Wirch-Ryckman Second:Brenda Mark Approved

5. President's Report - Report on website

 Treasurer's Report (report attached) Moved: Bob Phillips Second: Brenda Mark Approved

7. Ratification of motion regarding new fee structure:

Bill outlined the rationalization for the increase in fees: Motion passed at the board: *That OPSRRA reformulate its membership structure from the current \$10 for lifetime (associate or regular) membership to \$10 for a five-year membership, to be implemented on the anniversary date for each of its members.*

Diane and Bill explained how the process will work. A member had a concern that life members will not be grandfathered and that some members may choose not to pay the membership.

Amendment to motion: remove ... "to be implemented on the anniversary date for each of its members"

Moved: Heather Phillips Second: Diane Foster Approved Motion ratification with amendment: Approved

8. Membership Report (report attached)

Moved: Cheryl Wirch-Ryckman Second: Rosemary Jorna Approved

9. Election of Officers

Report of the Nominations Committee

Bill Dushenko thanked Brenda Mark for her 10 years on the OPSRRA board and Sandy Barta for her 10+ years on the board. Bill outlined the responsibilities for being a board member

The OPSRRA Nominations Committee puts forward the following names for election at the 2019 AGM

- President: President: Bill Dushenko
- Vice-President: Cheryl Wirch-Ryckman
- Treasurer: Diane Foster
- Directors: Fiona McDannold

Any OPSRRA member in good standing may stand for nomination for election to the OPSRRA Board..

Elections

Mike Hicks outlined the procedures for the election. Nominations from the floor were asked for, there was one: Tim Crow

The Directors acclaimed at the April 2019 OPSRRA Annual General Meeting are:

- President: Bill Dushenko
- Vice-President: Cheryl Wirch-Ryckman
- Treasurer: Diane Foster
- Director: Fiona McDannold
- Director: Tim Crow
- Director: vacant
- Director: vacant

It was noted that the directors can appoint a member to a vacant board position at any time before the next AGM

10. Guest Speakers:

John McCrea, Otter Point Fire Department:

• John gave a presentation on home fire safety, wildfire interface, and wildfire protection kit.

Jeri Grant, Jdf Emergency

• Jeri discussed the winter storm issues and Crest future plans as well as emergency pod communications.

Mike Hicks, Regional Director

• Mike outlined the issues he has been working on this year.

Questions from the membership were taken.

11. Motion to Adjourn

Moved: Don Burroughs 3:55 pm